Cover 2

CWRU Teams wins NESOWEA Student Design Competition

CWRU team won the NESOWEA Ohio Water Environment Association Student Design Competition. The winning team was Abby Slates (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Andi Chakraborty (Civil and Environmental Engineering), and Sofie Iwamasa (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering) from Case Western Reserve University.

The winning team will present their project at the 2021 One Water Ohio Conference and will represent Ohio at the Water Environment Federation Student Design Competition in October at WEFTEC in Chicago. The team’s winning design was for an energy recovery system for the Philip Q. Maiorana Wastewater Treatment Plant in Lorain, OH. Teams from CWRU have won three of the four competitions since the competition began in 2018.