Cover 2

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Civil Engineers design, construct, and manage the physical and naturally built environment.   The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (previously as the Department of Civil Engineering) at CWRU is proud of being one of the four founding departments by the Case Institute of Technology (since 1880) and continues to deliver significant impacts on the Civil Engineering profession in the Nation and worldwide with its rigorous and pioneering academic programs.

Patricia Cheng, a senior student of the Department, has been selected to receive a $5,000 scholarship from the International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association ( IBTTA) .  According to Patrick D. Jones, Executive Director and CEO, IBTTA, " Patricia and the other scholarship winners represent the best and brightest, who will no doubt be transportation change-agents as innovation and new technologies revolutionize how people move about the country and the world".  The 2019 scholarship winners will be recognized for their achievement during the Opening Ceremonies of IBTTA’s 87th Annual Meeting and Exhibition in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada on September 16, 2019.   More information can be found here.  Congratulations!  Patricia

Prof. Saada has announced the upgraded version of Case Geotechnical database.  It includes the past research conducted at Case Western Reserve University on the mechanical behavior of soils under Dynamic and Static loading, a joint efforts funded by the National Science Foundation in cooperation with the University of Grenoble, France.  It contains over 234 tests conducted on three different sands, in dense and loose conditions, with a wide variety of stress paths.  The Data Base including user manual can be downloaded by browsing the Department website or at the following Link: (available since August 2019)


The CWRU Civil Engineering Steel Bridge Team competed at the national competition in Carbondale, Ill., June 1, 2019. The team dropped six minutes in construction speed with a time of 19 minutes, and the bridge stiffened up with only 2.07 inches of deflection.

Huichun (Judy) Zhang, associate professor in the Department of Civil Engineering, has received the 2019 Nanova/CAPEES Frontier Research Award from the Chinese-American Professors in Environmental Engineering and Science organization.

This award is given annually to recognize outstanding professors in environmental science and engineering, who have achieved recognized research leadership and pioneered an innovative research area.  Congratulations!  Judy

Michael Pollino, associate professor of civil engineering, has been named a recipient of the American Society of Civil Engineers’ (ASCE) Moisseiff Award for 2019. 

The award was established by the society in 1947 in recognition of the accomplishments of Leon S. Moisseiff, a notable contributor to the science and art of structural design. The prize is given to an important paper published in an ASCE journal dealing with the field of structural design, including applied mechanics as well as the theoretical analysis, or constructive improvement, of engineering structures such as bridges and frames, of any structural material.  Congratulations! Mike

Katie Wheaton, instructor in the Department of Civil Engineering, received the 2019 Srinivasa P. Gutti Memorial Teaching Award from Tau Beta Pi. Wheaton was recognized for her commitment to undergraduate teaching at the annual Engineers Week Reception on Feb. 28.
She brings industry experience to her classes, which emphasize foundational skills for civil engineering, like surveying, statistical analysis and structural design. According to student testimony, Wheaton brings real world examples of engineering issues to class, some of them pulled from the daily news. Congratulations!  Katie  

Learn more about Wheaton and the award.

Our department would like to express our warmest congratulations to the graduates of Class of 2019! During the commencement on May 19, the following students received their degrees. We wish them the very best in their future careers.

BS: Myles Anthony, Steven Bachie, Kyra Espinosa, Aaron George, Alexandra Goldberg, Boris Granda, Madeline Harris, Madeline Hart, Ruby Lee, Brian McNamara, Jennifer Moose, Jared Paine, Helen Sanderson, Ian Steiner, Breoni Turner, William Worsham, Evan Zgrabik, and Xiaozhou Zhang.

MS: Abdullah Braik, Christain Griffith, Suraj Rao, Yunhai Shi, Samuel Shiau, Pramod Somashekaraiah, William Worsham, and Chen Yang.

Ph.D.: Yuan Guo, Chanjuan Han, and Xu Yang.

 Congratulations to this year's Civil Engineering Department Awards winners:
The Allison C. Neff Prize: Cameron White and Sarah Carlson
The Craig J. Miller Memorial Award: Isabel McLeod and Zhouying Jiang
The Kenneth M. Haber Award: Ian Steiner and Shifa Zhong
The Richard and Opal Vanderhoof Award: Rachel Fagerhaug and Patricia Cheng
The Roy Harley Prize: Aarin Mann and Xinyao Li
ASCE Student Chapter Service Award: Rachel Zable
G. Brooks Earnest Outstanding Senior Award: Steven Bachie

On May 9, the department held a ceremony to award this year's Vanderhoof BS/MS Fellowship. The winners are: Christian Griffith, Samuel Shiau, Jack Worsham, and Drew Zapor. Each student was presented with an award certificate and shared their experience in the department and career plan. Congratulations to the winners!

We would like to express our warmest congratulations to the graduates of Class of 2018! During the commencement on May 20, the following students received their degrees. We wish them the very best in their future careers.

BS: Barnabas Brennan, James Catalan, Rukmini Cheeti, Jennifer DoVale, Michael Farese, Connor Gordon, Christian Griffith, Marisa Harkins, Katrina Hilton, Jenny Lin, Mia Mariotti, Cameron McCalla, Nicholas Merchant-Wells, Ryan Merlau, Noella Musemininali, Calvin Nguyen, Meghraj Rathod, Timothy Sprague, Rachel Webb, Rachel Willard, Annastasia Wong, and Andrew Zapor.

MS: Elizabeth Caceci, Jennifer DoVale, Spencer Ehl, Wenbiao Li, Jacob Lunn, and Zachary Lyon.

Ph.D.: Yuan Guo, Chanjuan Han, Jiale Li, Mark Loria, and Xu Yang.