Cover 2

Departmental News:

 Congratulations to this year's Civil Engineering Department Awards winners:
The Allison C. Neff Prize: Cameron White and Sarah Carlson
The Craig J. Miller Memorial Award: Isabel McLeod and Zhouying Jiang
The Kenneth M. Haber Award: Ian Steiner and Shifa Zhong
The Richard and Opal Vanderhoof Award: Rachel Fagerhaug and Patricia Cheng
The Roy Harley Prize: Aarin Mann and Xinyao Li
ASCE Student Chapter Service Award: Rachel Zable
G. Brooks Earnest Outstanding Senior Award: Steven Bachie

On May 9, the department held a ceremony to award this year's Vanderhoof BS/MS Fellowship. The winners are: Christian Griffith, Samuel Shiau, Jack Worsham, and Drew Zapor. Each student was presented with an award certificate and shared their experience in the department and career plan. Congratulations to the winners!

We would like to express our warmest congratulations to the graduates of Class of 2018! During the commencement on May 20, the following students received their degrees. We wish them the very best in their future careers.

BS: Barnabas Brennan, James Catalan, Rukmini Cheeti, Jennifer DoVale, Michael Farese, Connor Gordon, Christian Griffith, Marisa Harkins, Katrina Hilton, Jenny Lin, Mia Mariotti, Cameron McCalla, Nicholas Merchant-Wells, Ryan Merlau, Noella Musemininali, Calvin Nguyen, Meghraj Rathod, Timothy Sprague, Rachel Webb, Rachel Willard, Annastasia Wong, and Andrew Zapor.

MS: Elizabeth Caceci, Jennifer DoVale, Spencer Ehl, Wenbiao Li, Jacob Lunn, and Zachary Lyon.

Ph.D.: Yuan Guo, Chanjuan Han, Jiale Li, Mark Loria, and Xu Yang.

We would like to congratulate this year's Civil Engineering Department Awards winners:
The Allison C. Neff Prize: Ian Steiner and Isabel McLeod
The Craig J. Miller Memorial Award: Christian Griffith and Maryam Mortazavi
The Kenneth M. Haber Award: Patricia Cheng and Jianzi Huang
The Richard and Opal Vanderhoof Award: William Worsham and Samuel Shiau
The Roy Harley Prize: Drew Zapor and Ram Mazunder
ASCE Junior Award: Madeline Hart
GB Brook Award: James Catalan

Congratulations to this year's winners for the Vanderhoof BS/MS Fellowship: Elizabeth Caceci, Jennifer DoVale, Spencer Ehl, and Zachary Lyon. The awrads are made possible by an endowment by Mr. and Mrs. Vanderhoof through Case Alumni Association.

Professor Heo has been selected as an Early-Career Research Fellow of the Gulf Research Program (GRP) of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEMfor Award Year 2017. These competitive fellowships recognize emerging professionals at the critical pre-tenure phase of their careers for exceptional leadership, past performance, and potential for future contributions to improving oil system safety, human health and well-being, or environmental protection. Prof. Heo is the only recipient from Structural Engineering out of ten recipients mostly from biology, chemistry, environmental engineering and policy across the country in 2017.


At the university commencement on May 21, we celebrated the graduation of the largest class in recent history of the department. Twenty one students received their BS degree in Civil Engineering: Javier Alverez, Elizabeth Caceci, Matthew Chin, Tessa Cooperrider, Samuel D'Alessio, Zachary Dallman, Spencer Ehl, Campbell Fitzhugh, Kate Goldman, Yang Jiang, Rachel Lanyi, Jacob Lunn, Zachary Lyon, Colin MacGregor, Jessica McCoy, Meghann McMahon, Williams Nelson, Jai Ponce, Erin Smith, Lauren Van Meter, and Jennifer Zajic. Two students received MS degree in Civil Engineering: Benjamin Allen and Nicholas Heim. Five students received Ph.D. degree in Civil Engineering: Zijian Li, Kamil Nizamiev, Saman Sabzehzar, Xuefei Wang, and Yuru Li Zimmerman. Congratulations to all of them and we wish them the very best in their future carrer!

Congratulations to this year's Civil Engineering Awards winners: The Kennth M. Haber Award - Elizabeth Caceci and Jiale Li; The Craig J. Miller Memeorial Award - William Worsham and Mark Loria; The Allison C. Neff Prize - Samuel Shiau and Annastasia Wong; The Roy Harley Prize - Zachary Lyon, Yang Xu, and Shaoyang Dong; The Richard and Opal Vanderhoof Award - Campbell Fitzhugh and Jennifer DoVale; ASCE Junior Award - Katlin Newcombe; and GB Brook Award - Spencer Ehl. These students achieved outstanding academic performance and performed superb service to the department.

Congratulations to the 2017 Vanderhoof BS/MS Fellowship recipients: Ben Allan, Nicolas Heim, Jacob Lunn, and Laura Rendos. The fellowship was estabilished through a generous endowment by Mr. and Mrs. Vanderhoof to support BS/MS students in civil engineering department. The awards were presented to the students at a departmental ceremony on April 20.

We would like to offer our warmest congratulations to the Class of 2016 in our department. The BS degree recipients are: Benjamin Allen, Erin Dreger, Samuel Glaubitz, Nicholas Heim, Robert Kitson, Hana Litwin, Ferin Neff, John Pease III, Malcolm Perkins, Anna Pimentel, Laura Rendos, Sarah Ronan, Michael Streicher, Louis Stuerke, Jielun Gu, and Andrew Bollinger; MS degree recipients: Andrew Bollinger, Gwen Evans, Alexander Abbott, and Derek Slovenec; Ph.D. degree recipients: Quan Gao, Jianying Hu, and Jin Qin. We are very proud of their achievements and wish them the very best in their careers.