Civil Engineering

We would like to express our warmest congratulations to the graduates of Class of 2018! During the commencement on May 20, the following students received their degrees. We wish them the very best in their future careers.

BS: Barnabas Brennan, James Catalan, Rukmini Cheeti, Jennifer DoVale, Michael Farese, Connor Gordon, Christian Griffith, Marisa Harkins, Katrina Hilton, Jenny Lin, Mia Mariotti, Cameron McCalla, Nicholas Merchant-Wells, Ryan Merlau, Noella Musemininali, Calvin Nguyen, Meghraj Rathod, Timothy Sprague, Rachel Webb, Rachel Willard, Annastasia Wong, and Andrew Zapor.

MS: Elizabeth Caceci, Jennifer DoVale, Spencer Ehl, Wenbiao Li, Jacob Lunn, and Zachary Lyon.

Ph.D.: Yuan Guo, Chanjuan Han, Jiale Li, Mark Loria, and Xu Yang.

We would like to congratulate this year's Civil Engineering Department Awards winners:
The Allison C. Neff Prize: Ian Steiner and Isabel McLeod
The Craig J. Miller Memorial Award: Christian Griffith and Maryam Mortazavi
The Kenneth M. Haber Award: Patricia Cheng and Jianzi Huang
The Richard and Opal Vanderhoof Award: William Worsham and Samuel Shiau
The Roy Harley Prize: Drew Zapor and Ram Mazunder
ASCE Junior Award: Madeline Hart
GB Brook Award: James Catalan

Congratulations to this year's winners for the Vanderhoof BS/MS Fellowship: Elizabeth Caceci, Jennifer DoVale, Spencer Ehl, and Zachary Lyon. The awrads are made possible by an endowment by Mr. and Mrs. Vanderhoof through Case Alumni Association.

Professor Heo has been selected as an Early-Career Research Fellow of the Gulf Research Program (GRP) of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEMfor Award Year 2017. These competitive fellowships recognize emerging professionals at the critical pre-tenure phase of their careers for exceptional leadership, past performance, and potential for future contributions to improving oil system safety, human health and well-being, or environmental protection. Prof. Heo is the only recipient from Structural Engineering out of ten recipients mostly from biology, chemistry, environmental engineering and policy across the country in 2017.

At the university commencement on May 21, we celebrated the graduation of the largest class in recent history of the department. Twenty one students received their BS degree in Civil Engineering: Javier Alverez, Elizabeth Caceci, Matthew Chin, Tessa Cooperrider, Samuel D'Alessio, Zachary Dallman, Spencer Ehl, Campbell Fitzhugh, Kate Goldman, Yang Jiang, Rachel Lanyi, Jacob Lunn, Zachary Lyon, Colin MacGregor, Jessica McCoy, Meghann McMahon, Williams Nelson, Jai Ponce, Erin Smith, Lauren Van Meter, and Jennifer Zajic. Two students received MS degree in Civil Engineering: Benjamin Allen and Nicholas Heim. Five students received Ph.D. degree in Civil Engineering: Zijian Li, Kamil Nizamiev, Saman Sabzehzar, Xuefei Wang, and Yuru Li Zimmerman. Congratulations to all of them and we wish them the very best in their future carrer!