Welcome to Materials Science and Engineering

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering (DMSE) at Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) is a research-centered educational environment whose mission is to enhance the productivity, quality, and benefit of materials-related learning to its students, faculty, and community. DMSE bears a commitment to the improvement of materials technology as an advantaged academic unit equipped with state-of-the-art facilities in areas of materials surface analysis, mechanical characterization, and an extensive suite of advanced electron microscopy instrumentation that act in synergy to consistently thrust us among the top tiers of materials research institutions in the nation.


Materials Science and Engineering’s Matthew Willard wins top society award for mid-career professionals

Matthew Willard, associate professor of materials science and engineering, was selected as one of four 2015 Brimacombe Medalists for his achievements in materials science and engineering by the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS). He was selected for this honor from the nearly 10,000 professional and student members consisting of metallurgical and materials engineers, scientists, researchers, educators and administrators from more than 70 countries on six continents. 
Brimacombe Medalist Awards have recognized professionals in the middle portions of their careers since 2012. The society-level award is presented to individuals with sustained excellence and achievement in business, technology, education, public policy or science related to materials science and engineering.The society specifically recognized Willard “for sustained excellence in the fields of physical metallurgy and magnetic materials, reviving the TMS Magnetic Materials Committee, and an outstanding record of continuing service.” He will be honored at the organization’s annual awards ceremony in March.

As part of Willard’s service to TMS, he has chaired the Magnetic Materials Committee (2009-12), advised content for the Journal of Metals (2012-13) in the area of magnetic materials, co-organized Symposia (2009-2015), and is serving his second term as member-at-large on the Materials and Society Committee (2012-18). He has also been on the board of review for the TMS affiliated Metallurgical and Materials Transactions since 2005, including a three-year appointment to the journal’s joint commission.

Materials chair James McGuffin-Cawley re-elected to America Makes executive committee

James McGuffin-Cawley, chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has been re-elected to the executive committee of America Makes, a federal initiative to develop advanced manufacturing techniques in the United States. Case Western Reserve University was among the institutions at the head of America Makes when it was launched as the National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute in 2012, with McGuffin-Cawley leading the university’s efforts in manufacturing innovation.

Janet Gbur wins ASTM E08 Student Paper Competition

Janet Gbur, a fourth year PhD student, placed first in the Student Presentation Competition sponsored by the ASTM Committee E08 on Fatigue and Fracture held during ASTM Committee Week in New Orleans, Louisiana on November 12th. The event was open to graduate and undergraduate students working in the area of fatigue and fracture mechanics. Her talk, "Review: Fatigue and Fracture of Wires/Strands/Cables in Biomedical Applications," was the result of a three-year effort with advisor, Professor John Lewandowski, collecting fatigue data for wire-based systems used in biomedical devices. Janet is an active member of E08 and Committee E28 on Mechanical Testing and was a recipient of the 2012 ASTM International Project Grant for her work on "Mechanical Characterization of 316 LVM Wires."

Matthew Willard named senior member of the IEEE

Matthew Willard, associate professor of materials science and engineering, has been made a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
Senior member is the highest professional grade of the IEEE for which a member can apply, and it is a distinction only 7 percent of the organization’s 431,000 members have achieved.
Willard’s research focuses on materials design and the study of processing, structure and performance of magnetic materials. 

SCSAM to over two day short course

The staff at SCSAM are offering a FREE two day short course designed to teach researchers more about the different miceoscopy, diffraction and surface analysis techniques possible with equipment at the facility. Anyone with interest should plan to attend this short course October 27th and 28th from 1:30-5:00pm in White Building 411. Please register by emailing Sharon Dingess with "registration for 2 day short course" in the subject line.