Welcome to Materials Science and Engineering

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering (DMSE) at Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) is a research-centered educational environment whose mission is to enhance the productivity, quality, and benefit of materials-related learning to its students, faculty, and community. DMSE bears a commitment to the improvement of materials technology as an advantaged academic unit equipped with state-of-the-art facilities in areas of materials surface analysis, mechanical characterization, and an extensive suite of advanced electron microscopy instrumentation that act in synergy to consistently thrust us among the top tiers of materials research institutions in the nation.


Alp Sehirlioglu named senior member of the IEEE

Alp Sehirlioglu, Warren E. Rupp assistant professor of materials science and engineering, has been made a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Senior member is the highest professional grade of the IEEE for which a member can apply, and it is a distinction only 7 percent of the organization’s 431,000 members have achieved.

Sehirlioglu’s research focuses on functional electro-ceramics with a focus on interfacial phenomena and energy conversion. 

Janet Gbur Awarded Top ZTA Founders Grant

Janet Gbur, doctoral candidate in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has been awarded the Ruby Leigh Orgain Founders Grant in the amount of $9,000 from the Zeta Tau Alpha Foundation. Nine grants are awarded annually to members pursuing post-baccalaureate education with each grant named in honor of one of the founding members of Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity. As an alumna of ZTA, Janet served as Membership and General Advisor to the Zeta Gamma ZTA Chapter at Youngstown State University, held the positions of Secretary and Fraternity Education Chair for the Cleveland East ZTA Alumnae Chapter, served as Province President XII-A overseeing ZTA chapters at Baldwin Wallace College, Ohio Northern University, and Youngstown State University and was awarded the Honor Ring, the highest individual honor granted by the fraternity for outstanding and sustained service to the fraternity on a local and national level.

Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity was founded at the State Female Normal School (now Longwood University) in Farmville, Virginia on October 15, 1898 and in 1954 established the Zeta Tau Alpha Foundation to help offer financial support to members pursuing higher education. This year the Foundation will award over $700,000 in grants to 260 collegians.

Congrats to Mark De Guire

Mark De Guire, associate professor of materials science and engineering, has been elected to the 2015 class of fellows of ASM International.

ASM is the world's largest association of metals-centric materials scientists and engineers with more than 30,000 members worldwide. Fellowship within the organization represents one of the highest honors in the field of materials.

De Guire was specifically honored for his significant contributions in the synthesis, processing, phase equilibria, defect structure, and characterization of functional ceramic films for electrical, magnetic, optical and energy applications.

He will officially receive the honor at the ASM Awards Dinner in October.