Van Horn Lectureship

The Kent R. van Horn Lectureship is endowed Lectureship and dates from 1974. It honors Kent R. van Horn, an alum, who had a distinguished career as a metallurgist, director of research, and ultimately corporate vice-president of Alcoa.
Each year, the faculty members of the MSE department assess the state of the art in materials science around the world, and nominate individuals who have been pivotal in advancing the field both over his or her career and, in particular, in recent years. Following often spirited debate, the list is narrowed to a set of finalists and a vote is taken. The Van Horn Lecturer is selected based on the following criteria: record of sustained high-impact research, breadth of interests, the potential for a dynamic set of lectures, and the ability to interact with a broad array of students. Van Horn Lecturers reside with the CWRU materials community for about a week and meet with groups of graduate students, and post-doctoral researchers, to discuss their on-going work. Faculty may be present, but one of the special aspects of the van Horn is that the interaction is primarily direct with the students. Three lectures on varied topics are to be delivered over three successive days.
Previous Van Horn Lecturers
Joseph E. Burke 1974
Raymond F. Decker 1975
Robert T. Wei 1977
Ray E. Smallman 1978
John W. Cahn 1979
Robert D. Pehlke 1980
David Turnbull 1981
John P. Hirth 1982
Anthony G. Evans 1983
Martin E. Glicksman 1984
Michael F. Ashby 1985
Peter Haasen 1986
Mats Hillert 1988
James Rice 1989
S. Amelinckx 1990
William D. Nix 1991
Robert W. Balluffi 1992
Peter Hirsch 1993
L. Michael Brown 1994
William D. Kingery 1995
Manfred Rühle 1996
Robert O. Ritchie 1997
Peter Hazzledine 1998
David Clarke  1999
Herbert Gleiter 2000
William J. Boettinger 2001
David Embury 2002
Sumino Iijima 2003
Terence E. Mitchell 2004
Peter W. Voorhees 2005
Sheldon Wiederhorn 2006
Subra Suresh 2008
Angela Belcher 2009
A. Lindsay Greer  2010
Yet-Ming Chiang 2011
Michael Finnis 2012
Eduard Arzt 2013
Tresa Pollock 2014