Janet Gbur is selected as 2016 Henry DeWitt Smith Scholar by TMS

Janet Gbur, doctoral candidate in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has been selected as one of the two 2016 Henry DeWitt Smith Scholars by TMS (The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society). She will be recognized at the TMS 2016 Annual Meeting & Exhibition in Nashville, Tennessee during the Annual Award Banquet. As a recipient of the award, she will receive a $2000 scholarship and travel expenses to attend the conference. Janet is a member of the TMS Biomaterials Committee and will be presenting "Evaluation of Dental Archwires Following Flex Bending Fatigue" in the Advanced Materials in Dental and Orthopedic Applications symposium at the conference.

The scholarship is funded by AIME (American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers). The principal aim and purpose of this scholarship fund is to further the mineral industries by affording educational opportunities in the arts and sciences pertaining to those industries, particularly by assisting worthy students in the mining, metallurgical and petroleum departments of leading colleges and universities which confer degrees in mineral engineering.