Janet Gbur Appointed to the Student Council of the Microscopy Society of America

The Microscopy Society of America (MSA) approved a resolution at its annual Winter Council Meeting to improve the level and sustainability of student input in its decision-making by creating a Student Council. The Student Council features offices that parallel those of the Executive Committee and the major standing committees of the Society. This structure was proposed by MSA’s student leaders in order to provide leadership opportunities to the Society’s
members at the earliest stages of their careers.

The inaugural Executive Officers of the Student Council are: Joshua Silverstein, Miami University of Ohio (President); Janet Gbur, Case Western Reserve University (President-Elect); James Kilcrease, Hitachi High Technologies America, Inc. (Past President); Cameron Varano, Virginia Polytechnic Institute (Secretary); and Ethan Lawrence, Arizona State University (Treasurer). In addition, William Bowman of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has been appointed Chair of the Student Council Program Committee, and is principal organizer of a PreMeeting Congress in conjunction with the Society’s 75th anniversary meeting, the first-ever Pre-Meeting Congress organized by student leaders.

Reporting to the MSA membership at its 2016 Annual Members Meeting, 75th Anniversary Committee Chair, Beth Dickey, noted that there was widespread consensus that the creation of the Student Committee was an important step forward for the Society, but that it needed to be restructured to achieve a more sustainable model. The Student Council does just that. New officers will be elected annually at Microscopy & Microanalysis, the Society’s annual meeting, by the students in attendance.