Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Department News

James T’ien elected into the inaugural class of fellows of the Combustion Institute

James T’ien, the Leonard Case Jr. Professor of Engineering in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, has been elected to the inaugural class of fellows of the Combustion Institute.  

Read more about Dr. Tien's recognition

Meet the 2018 fellows of the Combustion Institute


Clare Rimnac and Dwight Davy inducted into inaugural class of Orthopaedic Research Society fellows

The Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering’s Clare Rimnac, the Wilbert J. Austin Professor of Engineering, and Professor Emeritus Dwight Davy have been inducted into the inaugural class of fellows of the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS).


Read More


Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Graduate Research Award in Memory of Xiaoyang Zhao

The following graduate students received the 2017 Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Graduate Research Award in Memory of Xiaoyang Zhao.The award was endowed by Prof. James T’ien.

  • Michael C. Johnston, advisor Prof. J. T’ien
  • Xinyou Ke, co-advisors Profs. J. Prahl & R. Savinell
  • Nicholas S. Szczecinski, advisor Prof. R. Quinn
  • Peng Wang, advisor Prof. R. Gao
  • Mousa Younesi, advisor Prof. O. Akkus
  • Jingyi Zhang, advisor Prof. Ch. Yuan


Graduate and undergraduate students received awards at the Research 2018 ShowCASE event

The 2018 ShowCASE boasts the largest number of participants—roughly 1,200—including about 1,000 undergraduates and more than 200 graduate students, according to Tracy Wilson-Holden, Executive Director for Research Integrity, Education and Outreach.

Congratulation to EMAE 2018 Awardees:

  • Logan Smith won 1st prize in the Engineering and Computer Science category
  • Samuel Crisanti won the Outstanding Graduate Poster award
  • Kenneth Moses received Honorable Mention for Graduate Poster

Read more about the Research ShowCase event


Faculty received grants from the newly established Internet of Things (IoT) Collaborative & Institute for Smart, Secure, and Connected Systems (ISSACS)

EMAE Faculty and their teams will work on development of their innovations:

  • Umut Gurkan: Point-of-Care Sickle Cell Disease Screening
  • Kiju Lee: Elder Care Technologies through Living Lab
  • Fumiaki Takahashi: Smart Fire Fighting in Urban/Suburban Environ

Read more about Iot and ISSACS


Professor, Sunniva Collins the 2019 Recipient of the Albert Sauveur Award

Professor, Sunniva Collins is the 2019 recipient of the Albert Sauveur Award for the ASM Philadelphia (Liberty Bell) Chapter. The Sauveur award is given for “for outstanding achievement in the Science of Materials.  The recipient should have contributed significantly to a recognized advance or achievement in understanding and applying materials science principles to an advance in the field.”
Professor Collins was selected for the award in light of both technical achievements and service to ASM International. In November 2018, she will deliver the annual Sauveur Lecture, based on her research, to the annual Sauveur Night meeting of the chapter.

Albert Sauveur, (born June 21, 1863, Leuven, Belg.—died Jan. 26, 1939, Boston, Mass., U.S.), Belgian-born American metallurgist whose microscopic and photomicroscopic studies of metal structures make him one of the founders of physical metallurgy.  He was appointed in 1924 as Gordon McKay professor of mining and metallurgy at Harvard University and created the first metallographic laboratory at an American university. Sauveur’s work in heat treatment of metals is still regarded as a scientific landmark, and his book The Metallography and Heat Treatment of Iron and Steel (1912) developed the processing-microstructure-properties paradigm still used in materials science and engineering.

Albert Sauveur Achievement Award 


Biohybrid robot featured on Xploration

A post-doctoral fellow in mechanical and aerospace engineering, Vickie Webster’s work focuses on making small robots that move using live muscle tissue from sea slugs. These robots and her research are highlighted in this Xpolration video.



Baja team takes first at Midnight Madness event

Case Western Reserve University’s Motorsports team dominated two categories at the racing event, Midnight Mayhem, in Louisville, Ky. The team took first place in acceleration and overall dynamic, and they placed 42nd overall.The team designed and built the entire mini “baja” vehicle at Sears think[box], where they made all the parts except shock absorbers, tires and safety equipment.

Read more