Spring 2019 Seminar Series

DMSE Semester Colloquia Series

 
Seminars are presented in White Building, Room 411 and begin at 4:00pm (unless otherwise noted)

 


Tuesday, January 15, 2019

 

Hamish L. Fraser

Center for the Accelerated Maturation of Materials
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
The Ohio State University
 

Identification of Structural Instabilities, and their influence on Microstructural Evolution, in Titanium Alloys

Abstract


Tuesday, January 22, 2019

 

William (Bud) Baeslak

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Case Western Reserve University
 

Nature and Origins of Weld Cracking at Elevated Temperatures

Abstract


Tuesday, January 29, 2019

 

Daniela Soloman

Kelvin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
 

CWRU KSL Resources for Scientific Research


Tuesday, February 5, 2019

 

Amit Pandey

Granta Design
LG Fuel Cells Systems
 

Energy Sustainability – Role of Fuel Cells

Abstract


Tuesday, February 19, 2019

 


Tuesday, February 5, 2019

 

Eric Mueller

 
 

Case Studies of Failure Analysis on Transportation Accidents:

How to Use 11 Years of College to Look at Broken Stuff

Abstract


Tuesday, February 26, 2019

 

Jörg Wieczorek

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
University of Pittsburgh
 

Nano-scale Spatiotemporal Resolution Transmission Electron Microscopy of Multicomponent Alloy Microstructure Evolution During Rapid Thermal Transients

Abstract


Tuesday, March 5, 2019

 

Hoda Amani Hamedani

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Case Western Reserve University
 

Hetero-Nanostructures:
Enabling Future Electrochemical Energy HarvestersHetero-

Abstract


Tuesday, March 19, 2019

 

Santo Padula

High Temperature and Smart Materials Branch
NASA Glenn Research Center

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

 

Matt Miller

Sibley School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Cornell University

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

 

Kahlid Hatter

Ion Beam Lab and Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies
Sandia National Laboratories
The Response of Nanostructured Metals to Extreme Environments
 

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

 

Van Horn Seminar Series


Tuesday, April 16, 2019

 

Reeja Jayan

Mechanical Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University
 

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

 

John Perepesko

Materials Science and Engineering
University of Wisconson, Madison