All EECS News

Congratulations to Lei Wang, Somnath Paul, and Swarup Bhunia in EECS for their award winning paper!

Swarup Bhunia

Congratulations to Prof. Swarup Bhunia, PhD student Lei Wang and EECS PhD alum Somnath Paul (Currently at Intel Corporation) for receiving the Best Paper Award in the 25th International Conference on VLSI Design for the paper titled "Width-Aware Fine-Grained Dynamic Supply Gating: A Design Methodology for Low-Power Datapath and Memory." The paper presents a novel design solution to greatly reduce the power and heat problem in next-generation processors that go into desktop computers, mobile servers and mobile devices.  The work on this paper is sponsored by Intel Corporation.  Announcement about the award can be found here: http://vlsiconference.com/vlsi2012/

Ty Taylor and Mario Castaneda win the Seattle Independent Game Competition and are finalists in the IGF Student Showcase!

The Bridge Screenshot[UPDATE (!) "The Bridge is also a finalist in another competition: http://indiegamechallenge.com/2012-finalists/ (Be sure to vote for them!!!)]

TyTaylor and Mario Castaneda, 2011 EECS graduates, recently won the Seattle Independent Game Competition with their videogame, “The Bridge.” In August, The Bridge was a finalist in Microsoft’s Dream.Build.Play international videogame competition, where it was won the Honorable Mention for Innovation, and in October, The Bridge was a finalist for the IndieCade international independent game festival in Culver City, CA, where it was a nominee for Best Visuals. The game is also a finalist in the Independent Game Festival (IGF) Student Showcase for the 14'th presentation of its prestigious awards, celebrating the brightest and most innovative creations to come out of universities and games programs from around the world in the past year!

The Bridge is a 2-D logic-based puzzle game that forces the player to reevaluate their preconceptions of physics and perspective. It is Isaac Newton meets M. C. Escher—Manipulate gravity to redefine the ceiling as the floor, and venture through impossible architectures. Explore increasingly difficult worlds, each uniquely detailed and guaranteed to leave the player with a pronounced sense of accomplishment, while immersing the player into a captivating story. The Bridge exemplifies games as an art form, with beautifully hand-drawn art in the style of a black-and-white lithograph.

Prof. Garcia-Sanz publishes new book on Wind Energy Systems

Wind Energy BookProf. Garcia-Sanz, the Milton and Tamar Maltz Professor of Energy Innovation, in the EECS department has published a new book: "Wind Energy Systems: Control Engineering Design" through the CRC Press. This book describes the design and field experiementation of real-world multi-megawatt wind turbines and their control systems. It introduces the main topics of modern wind turbine design and control, including (1) the description of classical and advanced turbines, (2) dynamic modeling, (3) control objectives and strategies, (4) standards and certification, (5) controller design, and (6) a large number of applications like onshore and offshore wind turbines, floating wind turbines, airborne wind energy systems, advanced experimentation and real experiementation.

Prof. Ko Receives an NIH Grant for Developing Micropackage Technology

Wen KoProf. Wen H. Ko in the EECS department has received a new NIH R21 grant.  This award will allow the team to explore and develop a non-hermetic, biocompatible micropackage technology for microfabricated wireless implantable devices or systems used in bio-medical research and clinical care.

The award is $400K for two years.  Prof. Ko has been on Case faculty since 1959, and Professor Emeritus since 1993.  He is a Life Fellow of both IEEE and AIMBE with numerous awards and achievements.  His collaborators on this NIH award include Prof. Chris Zorman and Prof. Philip Feng, both from the EECS department. 

Meral Ozsoyoglu named an ACM Fellow!

Meral Ozsoyoglu

The EECS department is proud to announce that Meral Ozsoyoglu, Andrew R. Jennings Professor of Computing,  has been named an ACM Fellow this year. The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. The ACM Fellows serve as distinguished colleagues to whom the ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership as the world of information technology evolves.

Prof. Ozsoyoglu was named a fellow in recognition for "contributions to database management systems".

For more information about the award (and ACM!) go to: http://www.acm.org/press-room/news-releases/2011/fellows-2011