New Endowed Professorships Announced

Case Western Reserve University sign with flowers

Endowed professorships are appointed to recognize eminence in a given field. They are bestowed upon faculty who have earned national reputation for scholarly distinction in their field and demonstrated the ability to share that expertise with their students. An endowed professorship signifies to the external as well as internal academic community the highest standards for scholarship and teaching the school has to offer.

It is, therefore, with great pride that Case School of Engineering recognizes the following faculty who have been appointed, on the recommendation of the Board of Trustees, to endowed professorships since January 1, 2020:

Biomedical Engineering

  • ‪Abidemi Bolu Ajiboye: Elmer L. Lindseth Associate Professor of Engineering, effective January 1, 2020

  • Jeffrey R. Capadona: Leonard Case, Jr. Professorship in Engineering, effective November 17, 2020

  • Anant Madabhushi: Donnell Institute Professorship, effective September 15, 2020

  • Xin Yu: F. Alex Nason Professorship II, effective September 15, 2020

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

  • Burcu Gurkan: Nord Distinguished Assistant Professor, effective January 1, 2020

  • Rohan Akolkar: Milton and Tamar Maltz Professorship in Energy Innovation at the Great Lakes Institute for Energy Innovation, effective  August 11, 2020

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Yue Li: Leonard Case, Jr. Professorship in Engineering, effective  August 11, 2020 

  • Xiong (Bill) Yu, Opal J. and Richard A. Vanderhoof Professorship, effective September 15, 2020

  • Huichun (Judy) Zhang: Frank H. Neff Professorship in Civil Engineering, effective September 15, 2020

Computer and Data Sciences

  • Michael Fu: Timothy E. and Allison L. Schroeder Assistant Professorship in Computer and Data Sciences, effective  August 11, 2020

  • Vipin Chaudhary: incoming Kevin J. Kranzusch Professor and Chair of the Department of Computer and Data Sciences

Electrical, Computer and Systems Engineering

  • Pedram Mohseni: Goodrich Professorship for Engineering Innovation, effective August 11, 2020

  • Chris Zorman: F. Alex Nason Professorship I,  effective August 11, 2020 

Macromolecular Science and Engineering

  • Hatsuo (Ken) Ishida: Peter A. Asseff, PhD Professor of Organic Chemistry, effective July 1, 2020

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

  • Ozan Akkus: Kent H. Smith Professor, effective July 1, 2020

  • Chris Yuan: Leonard Case, Jr. Professorship in Engineering, effective July 1, 2020

  • Ya-Ting Liao: George B. Mayer Assistant Professorship in Urban and Environmental Studies, effective August 11, 2020

  • Xiong Yu: Opal J. and Richard A. Vanderhoof Professorship, effective September 15, 2020