Materials science doctoral candidate awarded Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity Founders Grant

Janet Gbur, doctoral candidate in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has been awarded the Ruby Leigh Orgain Founders Grant in the amount of $9,000 from the Zeta Tau Alpha Foundation.
Nine grants are awarded annually to members pursuing post-baccalaureate education with each grant named in honor of one of the founding members of Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity. As an alumna of ZTA, Gbur served as membership and general advisor to the Zeta Gamma ZTA Chapter at Youngstown State University, held the positions of secretary and fraternity education chair for the Cleveland East ZTA Alumnae Chapter, served as province president XII-A overseeing ZTA chapters at Baldwin Wallace College, Ohio Northern University and Youngstown State University and was awarded the Honor Ring, the highest individual honor granted by the fraternity for outstanding and sustained service to the fraternity on a local and national level.

Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity was founded at the State Female Normal School (now Longwood University) in Farmville, Virginia on Oct. 15, 1898 and in 1954 established the Zeta Tau Alpha Foundation to help offer financial support to members pursuing higher education. This year the foundation will award over $700,000 in grants to 260 collegians.