CWRU faculty members named AIMBE fellows

Five Case Western Reserve University faculty members have been inducted into the 2014 class of the prestigious American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE)’s College of Fellows.
This year’s inductees include Ozan Akkus, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, James Basilion, associate professor of biomedical engineering, Erin Lavik, the Elmer Lincoln Lindseth Associate Professor in Biomedical Engineering, Zheng-Rong Lu, the M. Frank and Margaret Domiter Rudy Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Ronald Triolo, professor of orthopaedics and biomedical engineering.

Akkus, Triolo, Basilion, Lu and Lavik with BME department chair and 2009 AIMBE fellow Robert Kirsch (third from left)


The AIMBE College of Fellows is comprised of the top two percent of medical and biological engineers in the country, and fellows are regularly recognized for their contributions in teaching, research and innovation.

Akkus, Basilion, Lavik, Lu and Triolo join 17 other Case Western Reserve faculty members in the AIMBE College of Fellows. 


5 new master's degrees 100% online — apply now!
think[box] news Subscribe now to the think[box] newsletter
Join us on social media.




Origami-inspired robot developed at CWRU could have applications in manufacturing and more.


CWRU tops $1.5B in fundraising, including $20M commitment to biomedical engineering.

Crain's Cleveland Business


CWRU exceeds $1.5-billion campaign goal. 

more CSE in the news


Add my event to the calendar!