Three faculty nominated for undergraduate teaching awards

The Carl F. Wittke Award was established in 1971 in honor of Carl Wittke, a former faculty member, dean and vice president of Western Reserve University. The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching. This year, the EECS department has two nominees--Harold Connamacher and Evren Gurkan-Cavusoglu! 

hsc21's picture exg44's picture

Pictured: Dr. Harold Connamacher, Assistant Professor (left) and Dr. Evren Gurkan-Cavusoglu, Assistant Professor (right)

The Jackson Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring recognizes the positive impact Case Western Reserve University faculty and staff have on the lives of students. It was established by J. Bruce Jackson, Adelbert '52, in honor of Dean Carl F. Wittke, who served as an advisor, mentor, and friend to Dr. Jackson when he was an undergraduate student at Western Reserve University.

The Jackson Award celebrates faculty and staff who have guided a student in their academic and career paths; fostered the student's long-term personal development; challenged the student to reflect, explore and grow as an individual; and supported and/or facilitated the student's goals and life choices. The EECS department has two nominees for this award as well: David Kazdan and Evren Gurkan-Cavusoglu!

Image result for david kazdan cwru

Pictured: Dr. David Kazdan, Adjunct Assitant Professor


Please join us in congratulating our talented and dedicated faculty on these nominations!