Alumni, save $10,000 off tuition of the school's new 100% online master's degrees if you enroll in 2015!
A new master's degree track in Wearable Computing explores the latest trend in the computing industry.
Case Western Reserve and the expansion of think[box] were highlighted at the first national Maker Faire
Data Science at Case Western Reserve University
ARPA-E leader

Macro’s Hatsuo "Ken" Ishida elected PMSE fellow

Hatsuo "Ken" Ishida, professor of macromolecular science and engineering, has been elected to the 2015 class of fellows of the Polymeric Materials Science and Engineering (PMSE) Division of the American Chemical Society.
Ishida was recognized for more than three decades of breakthrough contributions to the field of polymeric materials, including seminal work in composite interfaces, in polymer spectroscopy and in the development of polybenzoxazine resins. 

CSE appoints new chair of mechanical and aerospace engineering

The Case School of Engineering has announced the appointment of Robert Gao as the new chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.
An esteemed scholar, researcher and educator, Professor Gao joins Case Western Reserve from the University of Connecticut, where he served as the Pratt and Whitney Chair Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering for seven years.

National team to expand CWRU research restoring amputees’ sense of touch

Case Western Reserve University researchers who helped restore a sense of touch to amputees in a U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs lab in Cleveland are finalizing contract negotiations for a $4.4 million grant from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) to speed development of a mobile system amputees can use anywhere.
To speed progress on several aspects of the project, the researchers have assembled a team of experts from across the country.
If milestones are met during the next 18 months and beyond, the team may be eligible for nearly $16 million in DARPA funding over five years.

Civil chair David Zeng to discuss Lake Erie’s wind energy potential at next Science Café Cleveland

At tonight’s Science Cafe Cleveland, David Zeng, the Frank H. Neff Professor and chair of the Department of Civil Engineering, will present “Breaking Ice for Wind Energy in Lake Erie.”

Lake Erie has great potential for wind energy. A large wind farm in the lake would have many advantages: away from residential areas, occupying no land, near utility infrastructures and major consumers in Northeast Ohio. However, it also would face a number of challenges such as cost, finance and technology.

Engineering students bring solar power to remote village

A team of Case Western Reserve University engineering students recently traveled to the Kingdom of Lesotho, a small country surrounded entirely by South Africa, to help bring electricity to rural villagers.
The team, led by Daniel Lacks, the C. Benson Branch Professor of Chemical Engineering, installed solar powered electrical systems for three families that had been living without electricity.